Minnesota Police Officers with Most DWI Arrests Named "DWI All-Stars"

Posted On June 28, 2013 by Charles Ramsay

The Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) just announced its "2013 DWI Enforcer All-Stars| and introduced them before the Minnesota Twins' baseball game at Target Field on Thursday.

The group is comprised of 34 law enforcement officers and prosecutors from the Twin Cities' metro area and Greater Minnesota. The DPS says they were chosen |for outstanding service in enforcement and in prosecution of impaired driving.|

As I've noted previously, the DPS seems concerned more with quantity than with quality of service. As with previous lists, this list recognizes officers with the greatest number of stops and arrests. This troubles me. The criteria should be based on the quality of the officers' performance, rather than mere numbers.

The majority of Minnesota officers perform their jobs better than expected under harsh conditions. The take the motto |to serve and protect| very seriously, as well as their duty to put justice and service to the public first, relegating their own interests second.

They are polite with the public while ensuring that justice is served. They testify truthfully, and take their jobs seriously. Unfortunately, they go unrecognized. This "honor" by the department of public safety discourages such behavior, while encouraging injustice and promoting further distrust of our valuable peace officers.

These police officers understand their arrest numbers don't ensure public safety. These officers are the true ALL-STARS!

According to the DPS press release, the following were named based on the number of their 2012 arrests:

Twin Cities Police Officer |DWI All-Stars|:

Jeff Bilcik, Attorney General (prosecutor)

Jordan Davis, Minneapolis Police

Tony Gabriel, Maplewood Police

Eric Gadbois, White Bear Lake Police

James W. Golgart Jr, Minneapolis Police

Todd Groves, Eden Prairie Police

Paul Henstein, Minnesota State Patrol (West Metro district)

Mark Hibbard, Minnesota State Patrol (West Metro district)

Michael Lee, Minnesota State Patrol (West Metro district)

Andrew Martinek, Minnesota State Patrol (West Metro district)

Matt Olson, Maple Grove Police

Santiago Rodriguez, St. Paul Police

Mike Sellner, White Bear Lake Police

Gordon Shank, Minnesota State Patrol (West Metro district)

Adam Stier, Lakeville Police

Jack Tiegs, Minnesota State Patrol (East Metro district)

Timothy Tourville, Crystal Police

Jason Waage, Rosemount Police

Greater Minnesota DWI Enforcer All-Stars, including Minnesota State Patrol Trooper Gordon Shank with 269 DWI arrests in 2012 alone:

Chad Anderson, Moorhead Police

Kyle Backer, Minnesota State Patrol (St. Cloud district)

Brad Barrientos, Winona Police

Garrett Bondhus, Minnesota State Patrol (Rochester district)

Jeff Burbank, Red Wing Police

Tom Coulter, Blue Earth County Sheriff

Mark Diaz, Cass County Sheriff

Jesse Gilbertson, Big Lake Police

Chris James, Minnesota State Patrol (St. Cloud district)

Brian Martin, Blue Earth County Sheriff

Jeff McCormack, Austin Police

Joshua W. McCuen, Worthington Police

Chad Myers, Winona County Sheriff

Louis Norell, Windom Police

Matt O'Rourke, Grand Rapids Police

Steve Ott, Winona County (prosecutor)